Preview: “How to Compose a Dish–2” with locally grown oyster mushrooms

DSC_0294

I went to the first day of the North Union farmer’s market at Crocker Park this morning and picked up these beauties from the Killbuck Valley Mushroom Farm people.

DSC_0351

I’m still not completely sure what I’m going to do with them, but they will definitely be the star of the dish.

DSC_0333

I can’t get over how gorgeous they are–not to mention only nine dollars a pound. Seems like a crazy good deal to me for organic, locally grown oyster mushrooms.

DSC_0414

While I’m not completely sure what to do with them, I have some ideas and started doing prep work for components that I want to go into the dish.

Got some adzuki beans soaking…

DSC_0419

Some rainbow chard washed…

DSC_0626

And some chard stems pickling…

DSC_0641

It’ll all come together tomorrow. Here’s one more until then:

DSC_0358

Leave a Reply

